Wheeling in Michigan: Travel During COVID

**Please note: This blog, nor MPVA, seeks to give formal recommendations on travel throughout Michigan in regards to safety or health standards during the coronavirus pandemic. Please be sure to consult the CDC recommendations and the destination’s health advisories/travel restrictions whenever thinking about travel.**

As June dawned in Michigan and warm weather no longer seemed to be a passing pleasantry (fingers crossed) my mother, sister, and I made the decision to venture northward to enjoy nature and a time gone by in Mackinac Island.

Mackinac Island is a picturesque island at the top of Michigan’s Lower Peninsula that is a short ferry ride from Mackinaw City. It is next to the longest suspension bridge in the Western Hemisphere that connects Michigan’s Lower Peninsula to the Upper Peninsula. There are no cars on the island and the primary modes of transportation are horses and bicycles, lending to a pre-20th century vibe. The architecture of the homes, hotels, boutiques, and rustic cottages adds to the islands distinct charm.
As these things present unique challenges to those with accessibility concerns (such as myself) and as Michigan begins reopening in stages, I had to wonder: how will this experience play out?
I began planning for our getaway by running through a checklist that I normally have when I set out to travel:
  • Contact anyone I know in the area that can give me specific advice on where to stay, eat, things to do, etc. in respect to my personal abilities.
  • Be sure to look up the accessibility information on travel websites for the destination and take note of any deal breakers or no-goes
  • Look for the best place to stay: this means doing an advanced search for what I specifically need, such as a roll-in shower, accessible or barrier-free room style, or bed height in a hotel room, timeshare, or cottage.
Some other things that were specifically on my mind during the reopening of Michigan amidst the Covid19 response:
  • What are the current travel restrictions throughout the state? (Are we allowed to travel where we are going, and if so, are there any quarantine requirements once we arrive/return?)
  • Where is best to stay and eat in terms of cleanliness and social distancing practices?
  • Are rest areas open and accessible when driving throughout the state?
  • Are the needs for transportation open and accessible?

Day 1-The Drive

I love a nice, scenic drive through Michigan, but it can be a challenge for me (and for most people who rely on wheelchairs to get around) to sit in a car seat for several hours at a time. In addition to the need to stop to answer the call of nature, I also need a place to get out and stretch.
At the time I was traveling, restaurants and the like where I might have previously chosen to stop for a break were still not allowing customers inside, so Michigan’s rest areas were on duty. I’m happy to say that I was pleasantly surprised at the level of cleanliness and accessibility. MPVA looks forward to working through our Rollin’ Traveler program to forge a partnership with Michigan’s rest areas so that they offer the best of barrier free integration.

The highlight of the drive is the sharing and laughter that happens on the road. There always seems to be an increased level of what I like call “humorous happenstance” when traveling as an individual with a disability; that’s just what seems to happen when the world is not made for you. For instance, when we stopped at our first rest stop, there were a plentiful amount of handicap parking spaces and signs pointing to the accessible entrance. However, once out of the car, I found that the accessible entrance was a roll halfway up a hill! Thank goodness my mother and sister are used to pushing me uphill–and that they still volunteer to travel with me!

Day 2–Mackinac Island

Upon settling into our chosen hotel in Mackinaw City, we were careful to take note of their health precautions and the surrounding area’s requirements for social distancing. As continental breakfasts were suspended at Michigan hotels at the time of our travel, we did some research to find a carry-out spot. We were surprised to find that many dine-in restaurants in the UP (or the top of the LP) were open, with some restrictions, for sit down service.
A sign on Mackinac Island that humorously depicts horses wearing masks and social distancingEven the horses are getting into the health precautions on Mackinac
At the time that this blog is being written, the top 2 regions of Michigan are a step ahead of reopening because of their lower case numbers of virus (for more information on the regions or what stage the reopening is at currently, please visit Michigan.gov).
I have to admit that I was a tad bit nervous sitting down in a restaurant for the first time in almost 4 months. The staff was incredibly conscientious of cleanliness and required that masks were donned whenever not at the table, and I soon was able to relax. It was encouraging to see that, in such a tourist destination, tables were set at least 6 feet apart and everyone was made aware of safety measures.
After breakfast and a botched coffee order thanks to my mother (I adore you!), we went to board the ferry to the island. This particular ferry had only opened to the public days before. I am always interested in how boats and water recreation services deal with the challenges of accommodating a person with a wheelchair, but the Americans With Disabilities Act always expects them to have it figured out (that is an expectation not always met).
Robin Bennett taking a cup of Starbucks coffee from her sister excitedly.
I finally got my coffee on Mackinac Island!
This service, however, seemed well acquainted with how to handle a wheelchair. More importantly, they treated the person in the wheelchair (me) with respect and autonomy. The crew offered me choices of where I would like to set, as both rows of seating areas were up or down stairs. On the way to the island, I chose to have the crew help me down the stairs so I could sit with my mother and sister. On the way back, I chose to sit in the cargo area where I could be right next to the rushing water (calm down, Mom, there was a locked barrier!).
There is a lot of walking on the island, and as I am not fond of pushing myself, I was happy to be with people who took up the reins. Even though we did not get to see the entire island (8.2 miles around can be a bit of a hike), we enjoyed walking through the shops and hotels.
Some of the cottages and homes date back to the 19th century, as well as the old military fort. The architecture alone makes for a challenge to those on wheels. There were quite a few shops that, even if they had been open, I wouldn’t be able to go in without assistance. I can only imagine from looking at the antique architecture of cottages and small hotels that there would be little hope in staying there or finding barrier free amenities.

MPVA looks forward to developing our Rollin’ Traveler program to assist hotels in best practices for accessibility.

Still, I truly enjoyed the charm of Mackinac Island and found it surprisingly accessible for a day trip.

Date 3–Over the Bridge

Picture of the Mackinac bridge at sunset
Mighty Mac

On the final day, we decided it was time to see what the UP had in store.
When we had previously crossed the bridge, going to visit friends who lived there, the toll had never been much of an issue. Now with cleanliness practices that the bridge is taking throughout the summer of 2020, there were long lines and wait times. The bridge is only taking credit or debit cards for those that don’t already have a MacPass (a way to quickly pay for those who use the bridge often).
After paying the toll, we enjoyed the first city of the UP–St. Ignace, a small town full of quaint motels and pasty shops. We were able to do the majority of sightseeing from the car. We did, however, find a restaurant to enjoy (a sit down dinner two days in a row, it was almost too much!).
Robin Bennett, her mother, and her sister smiling at the camera while eating at a sit down restaurant in the Upper Peninsula of Michigan
Eating at the Driftwood restaurant in Saint Ignace, Michigan
Our next stop was Castle Rock—basically, a rock sitting atop an overlook of surrounding area and water.
A long distance shot of Castle Rock tourist destination in the Upper Peninsula of Michigan.
Castle Rock in the Upper Peninsula of Michigan.
It’s quite a climb to get up to Castle Rock and I was not able to go. It’s difficult sitting in the car or in a parking lot as others experience something that they can only tell me about later. However, I have always tried to have reasonable expectations of accessibility; certain things just can’t be changed or have an elevator added. I want others that I love to experience things, even if I’m not right there beside them.
A picture of the giant sized statues of Paul Bunyan and his ox, Blue at Castle Rock tourist destination the Upper Peninsula of Michigan.
Even Paul Bunyan is wearing his mask at Castle Rock tourist destination in the UP
With that said, I will loudly and proudly proclaim myself as a disability advocate that will go toe to toe with any business owner, manager, or legislator that is not providing/supporting the accessibility that is provided by the laws that activists with disabilities fought to pass.
In 2020, Americans will celebrate the passage of the Americans with Disabilities Act that was advocated for and not easily won. To learn more about the ADA and the road that led there, please click here or read the first MPVA blog about disability rights.

Back in My Own Bed

Reflecting on the short getaway, I ponder that for which I’m thankful.
  • I am thankful for my mother and my sister who are great company and great sports, willing to flex muscles to help me enjoy an experience.
  • I am thankful for Michigan and for every single person that has taken time to thoughtfully consider how best to keep people safe during the health crisis of 2020.
  • Lastly, I continue to be grateful for the advocacy and sacrifice of members of my community–the disability community— to ensure equity in laws and in mindsets.

As we embark on celebrating the 30th anniversary of the ADA, let us always remember that “injustice old anywhere is a threat to justice everywhere.

Leave a comment