Paralyzed Veterans Respond to COVID-19

This month of April brings new challenges and unique circumstances, just as it brings warmer weather and new leaves.

 

The Board Members of Michigan Paralyzed Veterans of America have experienced their own challenges and unique circumstances throughout their lives of service. During this unprecedented crisis in our world, let’s turn to the heroes of this country to consider their perspective on health challenges, isolation, and insight into why we should never give up.

The 19/20 MPVA Board

The MPVA Board was asked:

1. How has the current COVID-19 crisis affected your life? (For example: has the stay at home order interfered with your ability to handle health issues related to your paraplegia, are you more isolated, etc. Any positive experiences?)

Board member, Clark Shuler, wrote:

“I don’t think my situation is terribly different from someone who doesn’t have a spinal cord injury, my family is concerned that my wheels might bring in microbes, whereas they can just remove their shoes before coming in the house. That seems to be the main difference! So, I am fortunate to have family that can go to the grocery store, drugstore, etc.

My caregivers have stayed and I have what I need. My van could use a wash, but that can wait. I have shirts at the cleaners, but since I’m not going anywhere it doesn’t really matter if my shirt is pressed!”

Board President, Michael Harris, wrote:

“A couple weeks ago I received a call from the University of Michigan Hospital, Physical Medicine Rehabilitation (PMR) clinic about rescheduling my appointments because of being at higher risk of contracting Covid-19.

(…) it was suggested that I communicate with my physician using my phone/tablet instead of doing so in the outpatient clinic setting. This type of doctor/patient visit is known as Telemedicine.

Telemedicine allows health care professionals to evaluate, diagnose, and treat patients in remote locations.”

In a phone conversation with Mr. Harris about his switch to telemedicine, he said,

“I didn’t know what my options were.”

He had needed to visit his provider for what turned out to be an ear infection.

Michigan’s governor had declared an Executive Order on March 23 requiring citizens to stay at home, whenever possible, and only allowed for certain “essential” businesses such as hospitals, grocery stores, and pharmacies to remain open. When he started experiencing symptoms on March 24, the majority of VA clinics were beginning to close to non-essential traffic.

That is when Mr. Harris discovered that telemedicine can help with a number of different appointments. Telemedicine is offered throughout VA hospitals/clinics and by a number of medical providers for a variety of health needs—from PMR appointments to routine appointments.

For more information on VA telemedicine opportunities please visit VA.gov/coronavirus to learn about using Secure Messaging through MyHealtheVet to send a message to your provider or to request a telehealth appointment online. You may also call your local VA hospital or individual provider.

2. As 90% of the United States is now under a stay at home order, many citizens find themselves experiencing new limitations on their lives. As a veteran with a spinal cord injury, what would you say to encourage or to bring awareness to able-bodied citizens experiencing these limitations for the first time?

Board member, Ray Brown wrote:

Abiding by this Stay at Home Order is the least I can do to help others stay safe. It helps those that need to do their jobs do so without me being in the way. I don’t look at it as ‘limitations’, but as chance to enjoy life. Slow your roll, so to speak!

We have been given a precious gift (time). Freedom to enjoy family, friends, pets…even our homes. The very things we’ve worked so hard for we now get to enjoy.

The American Flag

When I was in the Military, I longed to be home. It was a precious time at home on leave and it was over in a flash and we were separated again. Enjoy it while you can!”

Board member, Scot Severn wrote:

“Basically, we are choosing to look at it as an extended spring break with our kids around our house. I’m actually enjoying the time with my kids (ages 18, 19, & 21).

It’s hard watching them grow up and go off to college and it’s nice having them home for a while. It’s a little weird not having anyone leave the house, but we always stay stocked up on essentials.

The main thing I’m missing is my weekly massage and chiropractic care but I do have a chair that helps. Missing out on the normal activity of going to the gym 5 times a week with my boys is hard to get used to, but we are working out at home.

Not going to lie, I hate travelling in the spring. I’m usually on the road going to track and field meets but, I’ll keep my focus on the Paralympic games in 2021!”

3. Please share any insights or teaching moments that you have learned through this experience that could inspire or educate others?

Board member, Ray Brown wrote:

” Ya gotta have faith! My motto is, For God & Country. So I’ll share Isaiah 40:31.

They that wait upon the Lord shall renew their strength, they shall mount up with wings as eagles, they shall run and not be weary, they shall walk and not faint.”

We’re going to get through this… cause that’s how we roll!”

Board member, Robert Vance wrote:

“This is our chance to rediscover what is most valuable and really needed in our lives.”

Motivational quote

Board President, Michael Harris wrote:

“Over the years people have thanked me for my service to our country and regretted the fact they did not serve. I always remind them that you do not have to wear a uniform to serve your country.

As our country faces a pandemic, there are people I want to thank: the doctors, nurses, and other medical personnel who are on the front line of the war against COVID-19.

Doctors, nurses, paramedics, and first-responders around the country are facing an unprecedented workload in overstretched health facilities. They are working in stressful and frightening work environments, not just because the virus is little understood, but because in most settings they are underprotected, overworked, and themselves vulnerable to infection.

Our members know first-hand the critical role the medical community has in allowing people with a spinal cord injury/disease to live life to its fullest.

Their dedication, commitment, and courage deserve our deepest appreciation for the countless lives being saved under extreme conditions.

On behalf of MPVA, thank you for a job well done!!” .

Leave a comment